You are using an outdated webbrowser.
Please update your browser software.
Sie benützen einen veralteten Webbrowser.
Bitte aktualisieren Sie Ihre Browsersoftware.

2021 Extension

At the end of July 2021, the UNESCO World Heritage Committee decided to extend the existing World Heritage Site "Ancient Beech Forests and Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions of Europe" once again to include six more countries: Bosnia and Herzegovina, France, Northern Macedonia, Poland, Switzerland and the Czech Republic.

In the process, 15 new protected areas were added to the beech forest family. Currently, the world's largest serial World Heritage Site comprises 94 forest areas in 18 states, and further valuable forest areas in other countries could follow.

Decision of the World Heritage Committee on the extension in 2021