You are using an outdated webbrowser.
Please update your browser software.
Sie benützen einen veralteten Webbrowser.
Bitte aktualisieren Sie Ihre Browsersoftware.

Our beech forest family

World Heritage without borders

The entire World Heritage Site comprises the few remaining European primeval beech forests and centuries-old European beech forest areas, which are almost unaltered by humans.

The UNESCO World Heritage "Ancient and Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions of Europe" is currently the largest serial World Heritage property, with 94 component parts in 18 countries in total. It covers areas in Albania, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, North Macedonien, Poland, Romania, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland and the Ukraine. And more precious forest areas in other countries could follow.

We grow together

It all began in 2007 with the "Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians", ten areas in the Slovak Republic and the Ukraine – thus a transboundary World Heritage from the very beginning.
With the inscription of the “Ancient Beech Forests of Germany” on the World Heritage List in 2011, our World Heritage Site was extended by five component parts.
In 2017, 63 additional areas in ten countries were added. In 2021, 15 new areas in six other countries have been nominated.
In 2021, our World Heritage Beech Forests were extended by a further 15 component parts in 6 states parties. This created the largest serial World Heritage Site in the world.