You are using an outdated webbrowser.
Please update your browser software.
Sie benützen einen veralteten Webbrowser.
Bitte aktualisieren Sie Ihre Browsersoftware.

UNESCO World Heritage

Some things are so precious and irreplaceable that their loss would be a tragedy for all of humankind and for planet Earth. The nations of the world have therefore decided that they belong to all people.

To preserve them for all time, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) initiated the ‘Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage’. Adopted in 1972 and entered into force by UNESCO’s member states in 1975, it is the most significant international agreement on the protection of outstanding human cultural achievements and unique natural phenomena and landscapes. It has been ratified by more than 190 states parties globally.

The World Heritage Beech Forests are on par with other enchanted places of world renown: Natural sites, such as the Great Barrier Reef, the Galápagos Islands, or the Grand Canyon, and cultural sites like the Taj Mahal, Machu Picchu, or Stonehenge.

Galápagos Islands © UNESCO

Stonehenge © A. Brock

Official website of the World Heritage Convention

Website of the German UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Website of the German UNESCO Commission